First Day at School

First day of school: Dawned bright and sunny. Sam lost one locker key within 6 minutes of getting it, and all day long older boys gave the new boys wrong information (“Science lab 12? That way! And tighten that tie young man… tighter!”) (Dad, I bet you’re having flashbacks. If you write a post about YOUR experiences I’ll give it to the boys and they won’t feel so hard done by! Email me!) Heavens opened after lunch, and the Bond Twins had to ride home in freezing rain.

Creative Commons Image, courtesy Wermibug

Extra curriculars after school till 1700hrs, starting next week, and the boys are doing football, archery, kickboxing, fencing, etc (oh, plus cricket and more football and choir and band practice at lunchtime). Ergo, they will not be getting home till well after 5 every day but Monday. Thank goodness for hot school lunches. (High point of the day!)

And yeah, they had homework.

Bedtime has been bumped up to early and the TV is unplugged. Bring it on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to First Day at School

  1. Krissa says:

    It sounds like you have got a prefect handle on this whole thing! Way to go!

  2. Wacky Mommy says:

    here’s to a great school year for us all!

  3. Audubon Ron says:

    Yes, I have been on elevators long enough to turn into a skeleton.

  4. This is my first time visiting your blog and I’m really, really enjoying it!!
    Thank you for sharing!
    gabriele

  5. I loved high school! May they thrive.
    p.s. Check out Kelly’s 1st day pics on FB. So cute!

  6. aclare says:

    My highly esteemed husband says the boys need to learn how to “peanut”. This is apparently a trick done with the tie. They need to speak to their uncle for further details.

    I say that a mixture of tough love and being cruel to be kind definitely helps us learn those life’s lessons we don’t believe our parents when they tell us. My high school experience, while I hated every minute of it while I was there, has made me the person I am today. (Which may or may not be a good thing! =P hehee…)

  7. the Mother says:

    My kids looked pretty beaten down after the first day of school, but not half that bad.

    Honestly, don’t they feed kids in the UK? You can see his BONES, for goodness sake.

  8. lceel says:

    Ah, the ‘old boys’ playing tricks, are they? Well, they’ll learn soon enough. It does seem as though they’ve taken on a bit much. All those extra-curricular activities!! My goodness. Dem boys gon be soo tired.

    • Nan says:

      They HAVE taken on too much… but I’m going to let them do it and learn to moderate themselves. I’m also going to let Sam lose his tie, forget his football boots, etc. It’s going to be hard, but the eventual outcome should be positive. I hope!

Leave a Reply

